to Top

  • Share this page on Facebook
  • Print this page

Stakeholder Advisory Panel

An Onshore Conventional Gas Stakeholder Advisory Panel was established by the Minister for Resources in August 2017.  The Panel is chaired by the Government’s Lead Scientist, Dr Amanda Caples.

The Panel will overview the environmental and geoscientific studies that the Victorian Gas Program is undertaking into onshore conventional gas and will advise the Minister for Resources on the risks, benefits and impacts of onshore conventional gas, including social, economic and environmental factors.

The Stakeholder Advisory Panel’s nine members are representative of key stakeholder group including farmers, industry, local government and the community.

The Panel members appointed are:

  • Mr Stephen Bell, Chief Executive Officer, Qenos
  • Mr Ben Davis, Secretary Australian Workers' Union Victorian Branch
  • Mr Gerald Leach, Chair of the Victorian Farmers' Federation Land Management Committee
  • Ms Alison Marchant, Secretary of Frack Free Moriac
  • Ms Linda French, Community Development Manager, Lattice Energy (formerly Origin Energy)
  • Mr Tennant Reed, Principal National Adviser, Public Policy, Australian Industry Group
  • Cr Joanne Beard, Mayor of Corangamite Shire and representative of the Great South Coast Group
  • Mr Mark Wakeham, Chief Executive Officer, Environment Victoria

The Panel will meet quarterly until mid-2020 and is supported by a Scientific Reference Group.

The Lead Scientist has issued a communique about the Panel’s meeting in August 2017. Please click here to view the message.